More Snowy Fun

Hello, Tuesday!  Hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving.

I discovered an AMAZING stamper/blogger this weekend. Her name is Julia and her German blog is called derkleineklecks.blogspot.ch. I was so captivated by her use of texture, layout, and color. It inspired me to create this card.

2016-11-28-21-40-28

I used a woodgrain embossing folder from Stampin’Up! to create the white card base.  I cut out the star using the Star Framelits from Stampin’Up to create the “peep-hole”.

I then created the starry background using distress inks on Neena Solar White cardstock.  Once I had the distress inks blended to just how I like it, I splattered it with water to create those cool watermarks. I then created the stars (or snow ) with a white gel pen.

I mounted the woodgrain panel onto the distress ink panel with foam mounting tape.

I houses were cut from SU Crumb Cake cardstock using Ellen Hutson’s Home and Hearth die set. I used my white gel pen to add a little snow to their rooftops.  I adhered the houses on a scrap piece of embroidered ribbon I had in my stash.

The word  Peace was cut from SU Real Red cardstock using SU Christmas Greeting Thinlits. I cut it three times and layered them all together to create a super dimensional sentiment.  The “on earth” is from Ellen Hutson’s Brushstroke Christmas stamp set, white embossed on black cardstock.

I put all those great pieces together and then mounted the whole scene on a SU Crumb Cake card base.

Then of course I had to embellish with a clean and crisp candy cane stripe ribbon, some glitter on the rooftops and around the star, and some Pretty Pink Posh Sparkling Clear Sequins.  I have to say that these sequins are my absolute GO TO sequins!  They come in different sizes and gives my projects just the perfect sparkle. I have a big bag of them and can never get enough.

Check out all the great detail and texture all of these elements can create all together…

2016-11-28-15-03-34

 

So fun and so….well…”peaceful”.  lol.

Hope you all check out Julia’s blog. It’s in German but there is a “Translate” button on the right margin. She is fabulous and I know you will fall in love with her.

Thank you for visiting me today. Hope you have a wonderful and blessed day. 

Cathy

 

Leave a Reply

