Snowy Fun with Purple Onion

Living in Colorado Springs, CO, one must get used to “bi-polar” weather.  Yesterday it was in the 60s, today it’s 41 degrees!!  Not even kidding!  We are still waiting for our first really good snowfall here on the farm.  Therefore, I am relegated to my craftroom  to make my own snowy fun!

purple-onion-walter

 

This adorable penguin is the Walter stamp from Purple Onion Designs and so is the Sled. The Be Merry sentiment is from the Winter Big Scripty Words stamp set from Lawn Fawn.

I kept the design very simple, but added fun little details to make it special. And that white background just makes everything pop.

First, I created the snowy background on Neena Solar White cardstock using Wendi Vechi’s embossing paste on Simon Says Stamp’s Falling Snow stencil.  This is one of my absolute favorite ways to add high dimension snowfall.  I used the same technique here. Be sure to wait for the paste to completely dry before touching the panel or you will end up with a big mess. Ask me how I know! lol

Once the paste was dry, I cut it to size with Simon Says Stamp’s Stitched Rectangle Die set. Then, to add a little more color and interest, I stapled some scrap red stripe ribbon on its corner.

I created the hillside with Mama Elephant’s Landscape Trio Die and stamped Be Merry with Real Red from Stampin’ Up!.

I stamped Walter and the sled in Momento Tuxedo black ink (because it works best with Copic Markers) on some scrap Neena Solar White cardstock and then had fun coloring them in. I fussy cut them out and adhered Walter onto the sled.

I adhered Walter and sled onto the hillside and then glued the hillside to the snowy background panel. I then adhered the entire panel onto an folded A2 sized cardbase.

I added all my fine details last because it’s much easier to do it after everything was put together. I added glossy accents to Walter’s bill, brushed Clear Wink of Stella on his cap , added a dusting of glitter on the hilltop and used white gel-pen to add the stripes on Walter’s hat. The final touch?….that mini pom-pom!!  I just love love that pom-pom!!

Here is what it all looks like up-close…

walter-card-close-up

 

Warning..As awesome as this little pom-pom is, the post office may not love it so much. Little details on a card like this can cause a bit of havoc on their sorting machine so be sure to go up to the counter and ask for “hand sort”. It may cost a little extra, but worth it if you don’t want your card to be delayed in the mail and it’s envelope chewed. Again,  ask me how I know! LOL Just something to think about when adding dimensionals, sequins and other embelishments to your cards.

Well, thanks so much for visiting me today.  Now, I am going to make myself some hot cocoa with marshmallows. Maybe that will prompt some real snowfall here in Colorado Springs!  Have a wonderful, and blessed day.

 

 

Leave a Reply

